0333-5111136 051-4932369-70 info@hiosh.org
Level 4 Award in Health and Safety in the Workplace (QCF)

Those gaining this qualification
will know that supervisors and
managers have legal and moral
obligations to ensure health
and safety within a business and
that this includes obligations to
employees, contractors, visitors
and suppliers. Its subject areas
are regarded by the Health and
Safety Executive (HSE) as being
important to developing safe
working procedures.

How is this qualification structured?


This qualification is made up of one mandatory unit for which learners
must successfully complete the assessment. This qualification can be taken
as a free standing qualification or as part of a wider programme of training.



This qualification is assessed in two parts.
The first part includes an internally marked assessment of two sections.
Section 1 is to undertake a risk assessment and section 2 is to construct a
safe system of work.
The second part is a 2 ½ hour examination consisting of two sections.
Section 1 contains 30 multiple-choice questions and section 2 contains six
longer written questions from which the learner answers four questions of
their choice.
Learners must achieve a pass in both parts of the assessment in order
to achieve the qualification. This qualification is graded Pass, Merit
or Distinction and the learner’s grade will be determined by the total
combined mark achieved from both sections of the examination. Learners
will achieve a Pass at 60% overall, a Merit at 70% and a Distinction at 80%.