0333-5111136 051-4932369-70 info@hiosh.org
Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Safety and Health

A nationally recognised qualification based on the Health and Safety Executive’s guide on how organisations should manage health and safety

Gain a thorough understanding of health and safety in the workplace
Five weeks of practical training
Multiple ways to study
Access to graduate IOSH membership
British Safety Council’s training expertise

Designed for managers and practitioners with specific responsibility for health and safety in the workplace, the Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Safety and Health is a professional qualification recognised nationally. The course covers risk management, health and safety culture and occupational health. The content is reviewed annually to ensure that the latest standards and legal requirements for occupational health and safety are applied.

It is recommended that delegates have either a level 3 certificate in occupational safety and health, an alternative appropriate qualification in a related sector, or appropriate experience in a health and safety role.

During the five-week course, delegates will be taught the principles of health and safety management, how to safeguard people’s health in the workplace, and how to promote a positive health and safety culture in the workplace.

On successful completion of two written examinations and two workplace-based assignments, delegates can access graduate membership of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH) – a nationally recognised and respected independent industry body. Following the successful completion of a period of initial professional development, a graduate member may apply for chartered status of IOSH (CMIOSH). Holders of the Level 6 Diploma may also apply for full membership of the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM).

Learning with the British Safety Council will enable delegates to benefit from our extensive experience in health, safety and environmental management, acquired over the last 60 years. During this time, we’ve educated people from all over the world and have developed expert tuition methods, using the most modern teaching techniques.
Course modules
Unit 1 – Element A: Fundamentals of Health and Safety Management
Unit 1 – Element B: Applied Health and Safety Management
Unit 2 – Element A: Occupational Health
Unit 2 – Element B: Risks to Health at Work
Unit 3 – Element A: Developing a Positive Health and Safety Culture
Unit 3 – Element B: Developing the Business Case for Health and Safety.
Unit 1 is assessed by a three-hour written examination, and Unit 2 is assessed by a two-and-a-half hour written examination and a workplace-based assignment. Unit 3 is assessed by a workplace-based assignment.